Krea and Photoshop-native AI are complementary more often than they are substitutes. Krea is built for fast browser-based exploration across image, video, realtime, enhancement, and training tools. A Photoshop-native workflow is built around an editable production file. The right choice depends on whether the immediate job is finding a direction or finishing a controlled deliverable.
All Krea plan values below are as reviewed on 2026-07-11. Krea uses live selectors, so a plan name without its selected compute-unit level is not enough to identify a price.
What does Krea cost in 2026?
Krea’s live pricing page lists Free, Basic, Pro, selectable Max levels, Business, and Enterprise. The amounts below were displayed in US dollars. Monthly prices and annual commitments are separate purchase cadences. An annual effective monthly amount is the annual total divided by twelve, not a cancel-any-month rate.
| Vendor / plan / cadence | Price | Included usage | License / entitlement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Krea / Free / daily | $0 | 100 compute units/day | No commercial license stated for Free |
| Krea / Basic / monthly | $9/month | 5,000 compute units/month | Commercial license |
| Krea / Basic / annual | $63/year ($5.25/month effective) | 5,000 compute units/month | Commercial license |
| Krea / Pro / monthly | $35/month | 20,000 compute units/month | Commercial license |
| Krea / Pro / annual | $252/year ($21.00/month effective) | 20,000 compute units/month | Commercial license |
| Krea / Max 40k / monthly | $70/month | 40,000 compute units/month | Commercial license |
| Krea / Max 40k / annual | $504/year ($42.00/month effective) | 40,000 compute units/month | Commercial license |
| Krea / Max 60k / monthly | $105/month | 60,000 compute units/month | Commercial license |
| Krea / Max 60k / annual | $756/year ($63.00/month effective) | 60,000 compute units/month | Commercial license |
| Krea / Max 80k / monthly | $135/month | 80,000 compute units/month | Commercial license |
| Krea / Max 80k / annual | $972/year ($81.00/month effective) | 80,000 compute units/month | Commercial license |
| Krea / Max 100k / monthly | $165/month | 100,000 compute units/month | Commercial license |
| Krea / Max 100k / annual | $1,188/year ($99.00/month effective) | 100,000 compute units/month | Commercial license |
| Krea / Business 80k / monthly | $200/month | 80,000 shared compute units/month | Business terms; no-training clauses |
| Krea / Business 80k / annual | $1,920/year ($160.00/month effective) | 80,000 shared compute units/month | Business terms; no-training clauses |
The selector detail matters. Max 40k is $70 monthly. Max 60k is $105 monthly. Combining those two selector states understates the reviewed price.
Krea advertises 40 percent off yearly creator plans, but buyers should use the displayed annual total rather than applying one percentage themselves. Basic’s displayed $63 annual total is $5.25 per month effective, while twelve monthly payments would be $108. The arithmetic is more precise than a rounded promotional label.

What do Krea compute units and licenses cover?
According to Krea’s pricing FAQ, compute units are a shared meter across its tools, and heavier routes can consume them at different rates. Basic, Pro, and Max do not roll over unused individual-plan units. Additional compute packs are valid for 90 days.
The current individual Basic, Pro, and Max cards include a commercial license. That is a content-use entitlement, not a universal privacy statement. No-training clauses appear on Business terms, and the Enterprise page describes enterprise security and control separately. It would be inaccurate to copy Business or Enterprise data promises onto every individual plan.
The Free plan is useful for evaluation, with 100 compute units per day and limited access. The reviewed pricing card does not state a commercial license for Free, so client work should not be planned around an assumed entitlement.
What is Krea best at?
Krea is strongest when the creative question is still open. Its product overview presents realtime generation, image and video creation, enhancement, 3D, editing, and LoRA training in one browser suite. The realtime canvas can respond while a creator changes shapes, references, or a sketch, which makes it useful for live ideation and quick direction finding.
The exact export size and quality depend on the selected model and settings. This article does not keep the older fixed claim that realtime always means one 512px output and quality always means one 1024px output. Krea’s current public material describes a changing catalog, so model-specific limits should be checked in the product when the job begins.
Krea’s pricing page and hydrated product surfaces can expose inconsistent upscaling limits during an update. This article therefore does not freeze a Basic, Pro, and Max resolution matrix. Check the selected plan and live tool immediately before promising an export size to a client.
What does Photoshop-native AI optimize?
Photoshop-native AI optimizes the handoff into an editable file. A generated result can arrive in the document where masks, type, product photography, guides, and version history already live. That does not make it faster for open-ended concepting. It makes the finishing loop easier to control.
Bielfor makes Creator MAX, so this is not an independent review of that product. Its current price, supported models, system requirements, license, privacy behavior, and purchase terms should be taken from the current purchase page and documentation, not inferred from this Krea comparison.
The workflow distinction remains useful without relying on product claims. A browser suite generally hands a rendered asset to the next tool. Photoshop keeps the source photograph, protected label, masks, and generated variants in one layered document. For commercial retouching, the value is not a claim that generation preserves every label. The value is that the operator can keep real product pixels isolated and inspect every generated area before delivery.
Which workflow is better for client work?
Choose Krea first when speed to concept, model breadth, or video exploration is the bottleneck. Choose Photoshop first when the deliverable requires editable layers, repeatable masks, color-managed finishing, or a real packshot that must remain unchanged.
A practical hybrid is often stronger than either extreme:
- Explore composition and motion directions in Krea.
- Export the selected concept as a visual reference.
- Rebuild the approved direction around the real source assets in Photoshop.
- Generate or retouch only the regions that can safely change.
- Verify labels, legal copy, edges, color, and dimensions before delivery.
This approach treats a Krea output as a direction, not as a layered master. It also avoids pretending that Photoshop is a realtime ideation canvas. The same browser-suite versus layered-stack trade-off, under different pricing and licensing terms, is examined in Higgsfield vs a Photoshop AI stack.
Is Krea cheaper than a pay-per-use workflow?
There is no provider-independent answer. Krea includes many tools and models behind compute units, while a direct API charges by model, resolution, inputs, and other request settings. A fair comparison needs the exact route and the number of accepted deliverables, not only the number of clicks.
Krea can be economically attractive when a creator uses its realtime loop, video access, enhancement tools, training, and monthly pool. A direct API can be attractive when volume is irregular and there is no monthly minimum. The current per-model API math is maintained separately in AI image API vs subscription cost so this article does not freeze another copy of a volatile provider table.
FAQ
Is Krea free for commercial work?
The reviewed Free card provides 100 compute units per day but does not state a commercial license. Basic is the first reviewed tier that explicitly includes one. Buyers should check the current pricing page and terms for the actual job and account.
How much is Krea Max with 60,000 units?
The reviewed monthly selector shows $105 for Max 60k. The $70 Max option is the separate 40k level. On annual billing, the 60k total is $756, which is $63 per month effective across the annual term.
Do Krea compute units roll over?
Basic, Pro, and Max units do not roll over under the reviewed individual-plan FAQ. Business and Enterprise can have customizable rollover arrangements. One-time add-on packs expire after 90 days.
Can Krea replace Photoshop?
Krea can replace part of the exploration and generation loop. It does not remove the need for a layered editor when the client requires editable masks, protected source pixels, controlled typography, or a PSD handoff.
Does Krea include every video model without extra metering?
Pro advertises access to all video models, including named examples such as Veo, Sora, and Kling, but usage still draws from compute units. Access through one subscription does not mean every route is unlimited.



